CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 64% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the High risk of losing your money.

U.S. Dollar Pares Back Gains After Inflation Data

2018-11-15 10:54:17Trading Strategies
U.S. Dollar Pares Back Gains After Inflation Data

The dollar pared back earlier gains on Wednesday after inflation data supported the Federal Reserve increasing rates at a gradual pace.

The U.S. dollar index, which measures the greenback’s strength against a basket of six major currencies, fell 0.27% to 96.88 as of 11:15 AM ET (16:15 GMT).

Data on Wednesday showed that the annual core consumer price index (CPI) rose 2.1%, which was less than expected.

Core prices are viewed by the Federal Reserve as a better gauge of longer-term inflationary pressure because they exclude the volatile food and energy categories. The central bank usually tries to aim for 2% core inflation or less.

The dollar was flat against the Japanese yen, with USD/JPY at 113.81. The Canadian dollar was higher, with USD/CAD falling 0.03% to 1.3235.

Sterling increased on news that the European Union and the UK have reached a draft agreement on Brexit. A statement from British Prime Minister Theresa May is expected at 12:00 PM ET (17:00 GMT).

GBP/USD rallied 0.25% to 1.3011

Meanwhile, the euro edged higher, but was held back by a row between Brussels and Rome over Italy’s budget. The European Commision rejected Italy’s 2019 budget because it breaches EU fiscal rules, but Italy has stuck to its target in a re-submitted draft budget.

EUR/USD increased 0.19% to 1.1310.

Elsewhere, the NZD/USD rose 0.37% to 0.6789, while AUD/USD inched down 0.03% to 0.7215.